Facebook Builds a Feature to Let Users Clear Your History

In the wake of the Cambridge Analytica scandal, Facebook today announced plans to build a feature that will let you clear your history.

The upcoming Clear History feature will let you see all the websites and apps that are sending Facebook information about you, delete that data from your account, and disable the social network’s ability to store it associated with your account in the future. Facebook plans to work with privacy advocates, academics and lawmakers when building this new feature, which should take “a few months” to arrive.

“Apps and websites that use features such as the Like button or Facebook Analytics send us information to make their content and ads better,” Facebook Vice President and Chief Privacy Officer Erin Egan explained in a blog post. “We also use this information to make your experience on Facebook better.”

If you clear your history, Facebook will remove personally identifying information, so a record of the websites and apps you’ve used will no longer be associated with your account.

Meanwhile, the British Parliament on Tuesday sent a letter to Facebook, once again, asking CEO Mark Zuckerberg to testify as part of its probe into fake news and disinformation on the platform, and they are not playing around this time.

In the letter, Damian Collins, Chairman of the Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee, said Zuckerberg can either go there voluntarily by May 24, or officials will issue a summons.

Source: Entrepreneur.com

Leave a Response

share on: